555, Rue Notre-Dame Est, Trois-Rivières
The Maison Rocheleau, also known as “Manoir des Jésuites”, is one of the oldest buildings in the eastern part of Trois-Rivières. Built in 1742 by François Rocheleau, it is the result of a request from the Jesuits, who were unable at the time to ensure a presence on the seigneury. Hence François started working on the missionaries’ behalf and ensured that the site’s facilities were functioning properly. The house hosted the Rocheleaus for over 100 years and was subsequently named after the family who built it.
Over the centuries, the Maison Rocheleau, also known as “Manoir des Jésuites”, filled various roles. Previously used as a warehouse and a hotel, it eventually became prized for its subsoil rich in thermal water, and was acquired by the town of Trois-Rivières in 2010. The outside of the building was then renovated in order to restore its original New France era appearance. The interior combines in turn ancient and modern styles and features architectural evidence of the building’s history. The permanent exhibition relates the journey of the property’s owners, as well as the history of Cap-de-la-Madeleine and its surroundings areas.
The Maison Rocheleau, one of the Trois-Rivieres attraction, also offers a varied program which aims to be accessible and diversified. Workshops, historical activities and many more await you! To discover our program, click HERE.